A Certain Scientific Railgun Anime Gets Second Series

During a stage event at the Dengeki 20th Anniversary Festival, it has been announced that a second series of A Certain Scientific Railgun, titled A Ceratin Scientific Railgun S, is under way. The A Certain Scientific Railgun anime series is based on the manga by Kazuma Kamachi and Motoi Fuyukawa, a spin-off of the original light novels A Certain Magical Index by Kazuma Kamachi and Kiyotaka Haimura. 

The story, cast and crew of the second series are yet to be announced, but it has been confirmed that these details will be revealed in the December issue of ASCII Media Works’ Monthly Comic Dengeki Daioh magazine on 27 October.

The story of the manga and anime series is set in Academy City, a very technologically advanced city, where eighty percent of its 2.3 million residents are students. The focus of studies is directed towards esper powers. Misaka Mikoto is a top level 5 esper, who shares a room with Kuroko Shirai, a level 4 esper who is a member of Judgement, the law enforcement agency composed of students. Shirai’s Judgment partner is Kazari Uiharu, a level 1 esper; Uiharu’s best friend is Ruiko Saten, a level 0 esper. Together, the four encounter adventures and mysteries in the scientific town.

Date A Live Cast and Crew Announced

Japanese publisher Fujimi Shobo has announced the main cast and crew of the anime adaptation of Koushi Tachibana light novel series Date A Live. The anime is set for release in 2013.

Cast list:

  • Shido Itsuka: Nobunaga Shimazaki
  • Tohka Yatogami: Marina Inoue
  • Kotori Itsuka: Ayana Taketatsu
  • Origami Tobiichi: Misuzu Togashi
  • Yoshino: Iori Nomizu
  • Kurumi Tokisaki: Asami Sanada
  • Tamae Okamine: Kaori Sadohara
  • Mana Takamiya: Misato
  • Reine Murasame: Aya Endo

The series will be directed by Keitaro Motonaga (Jormungand, Getbackers) and Hideki Shirane (Queen’s Blade Rebellion, Kill Me Baby) will be in charge of scriptwriting. The music of the series will be provided by Go Sakabe (The price of Tennis Musical), along with the sound director Yasunori Ebina (A Certain Magical Index, Naruto). Other members of the cast include Hisashi Saito (Haganai, Heaven’s Lost Property) as the visual director, Satoshi Ishino (Excel Saga, Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu) will be doing the character design based on the original drawings and Mika Akitaka (Martian Successor Nadesico, Galaxy Fraulein Yuna) is designing the mecha. Sweet Arms will be performing the theme song.